Advice for middle schoolers taking standarized tests. I score them..

Rathar

<Bronze Donator>
So I work for (REDACTED.) They make and administer an amazingly large amount of the United States "Standardized tests". I've been grading 6th graders math tests for the last 3 years for the (REDACTED) test many many many thousands of them take in XYZ states.
I want to pass along some very simple stuff that skirts the NDA to you my fellows who may have kids near said age etc.

If you've seen the movie Fast Times at Ridgemont High (double bonus for the book reading btw) the theory that Mr. Hand uses the same quizzes etc every year _Is_True_ (with way way smaller degree of change/new questions than you'd believe). Long winded way of telling your kids to ask what they asked last year. Straight out.

I score word problems that require actual thinking/reading skills and so I "discern" how much of the concept they are attempting test your child on really gets.