Gaming on Linux for n00bs

Aaron

Goonsquad Officer
<Bronze Donator>
I've been a Windows user since Windows for Workgroups 3.11 back in the day. But I've all but got to the point where I've given up on it. I'm using Win7 at the moment but have decided that once I have to upgrade my machine I will think long and hard of switching to Linux. Now, practically the only qualm I have about Linux is my gaming hobby. Fortunately Steam and a few other (mostly Indy devs) seem to be anticipating this shift.

Now, as a complete noob on this subject, I have two (or three) questions:

1. Owning many games that support multiple platforms on Steam, I do take it that if I do change to Linux, I won't need to buy a new copy of those games, right?

2. There are lots of different versions of Linux out there, are they all gaming (and PI specifically) compatible, or are there ones that are better than others? If so, which?

3. (optional) Speaking as a total noob on this subject, what sort of additional advice would you give someone contemplating a shift to Linux based gaming?

Noodleface

A Mod Real Quick
I've been a Windows user since Windows for Workgroups 3.11 back in the day. But I've all but got to the point where I've given up on it. I'm using Win7 at the moment but have decided that once I have to upgrade my machine I will think long and hard of switching to Linux. Now, practically the only qualm I have about Linux is my gaming hobby. Fortunately Steam and a few other (mostly Indy devs) seem to be anticipating this shift.

Now, as a complete noob on this subject, I have two (or three) questions:

1. Owning many games that support multiple platforms on Steam, I do take it that if I do change to Linux, I won't need to buy a new copy of those games, right?

2. There are lots of different versions of Linux out there, are they all gaming (and PI specifically) compatible, or are there ones that are better than others? If so, which?