Get a 4 year old a dirtbike

Seanwin

Lord Nagafen Raider
So, my wife has finally bent on this so I can get my son a dirtbike. Now i've drive for about 20 years but never experienced, or seen aside from youtube, starting a 4 year old on a motorized vehicle that potentially can get away from me.

Anyone have experience with starting a youngster out on this type of thing. Obviously he would be in safety gear etc. And i will admit being selfish that having my son dirtbiking would increase my amount of the same.

I was thinking a KTM 50 and he he loves it, fuck yeah, if not, its a toy for when the guys are drunk.

Ps. Dunno if it matters but my 4 year old is the size of a 6 year old

Silence_sl

shitlord
I started out when I was 6, on a Yamaha 75. Handled it fine, no injuries. That KTM 50 will have too much scoot, though. Get something in a 50cc+ 4-stroke and it'll be great fun and safe.

Grimmlokk

Ahn'Qiraj Raider
There is a world of difference between 4 and 6. I'd trust my 6 year-old nephew on a little bike with all the expected precautions, but when he was 4? That would be iffy. Maybe I'm projecting from his 3 year old brother, but I remember him falling. A lot. I'd go with whatever the wimpiest thing you can find is. Better to beef up in 2 years than to break his arm and have him be nervous about it.

Joeboo

Molten Core Raider
Hell, can he even ride a normal bike without training wheels at the age of 4?

Kedwyn

Silver Squire
Your kid, do what you want but I'd be hesitant to put a 4 year old on one. They generally don't have nearly the reasoning skills necessary at that age.

Good luck with whatever you buy for him.

Eomer

Trakanon Raider
I loved my sweet little Honda 50CC when I was 5-6 years old. Until some asshole stole it. However I believe that pretty much every other kid around my age that touched it nearly killed themselves (family, friends, neighbors etc), so yeah, maybe not a wise investment safety wise. Probably better than a quad though!

Seanwin