Pen Testing

a_skeleton_03

<Banned>
who does it and what do the suggest starting with to learn it all?

I think I am going to buy a Pineapple Mark V and "war drive" my neighborhood to see how that concept works. Has anyone else played with one? Can you do the same thing in just a software solution?

Mist

Eeyore Enthusiast
<Gold Donor>
You might as well have named this thread: "How do I become a leet hax0r?!"

5dc.jpg

a_skeleton_03

<Banned>
That said... for a complete beginner Pineapple Mark V is a pretty good starting point.

The only real advice I can give you is to figure out if you even care, computer security is really the only CS field where you really need an in-depth knowledge of low-level hardware, algorithms, and tons of fucking math, otherwise you're just a glorified sysadmin with a tool-belt of "best practices" but no ability to know if your systems actually are secure besides hiring real experts. There isn't an equivalent path to this like "go to a ruby bootcamp!" to get you up to speed quick, at best you can study the common types of attacks, but you need a really large depth of knowledge before you really understand WHY those attacks work and more importantly, how to discover new ones.

Ultimately there is no such thing as a secure computer, all security is a measure of the resources of the attacker vs the defender, where the defender only has to have one error anywhere and the attacker wins.

The tool-belt is essentially just to make it so inconvenient to discover those flaws that they give up and move to a new target, however, with current technology, it is literally impossible to deter a hacker who has the drive to attack and the time to be patient.

First rule of security: Don't piss people off.
Yeah I read this article monthly and share it with all my friends.

Everything Is Broken - The Message - Medium