EQemu - Nagafen's Lair (Reborn)

Discussion in 'MMO Emulators' started by Evernothing, Aug 5, 2016.

?

WHAT DO NOW?

Poll closed Sep 17, 2016.
  1. Re-host NL at the most current backup, no reset

    64.0%
  2. Re-host NL, full wipe and reset

    22.0%
  3. Fuck NL, lets play Stormhaven (better tested content, confirmed stable server, can 1 box)

    14.0%
  1. Deruvian Member

    Deruvian
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2016
    Messages:
    425
    Ratings:
    +13
    I think nearly all of NTOV outside of Vyemm and Vulak were done without heals or pots. I'll give Vulak a try later today with just pots and let you know how it goes ;)

    The no heal comment was more of a function of the DPS; most of these were fights that only lasted maybe 2 minutes or so.
     
  2. Vanessa Active Member

    Vanessa
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2016
    Messages:
    124
    Ratings:
    +273
    Does this server have an afk -> boot to character select thing in place or are GM's just kicking me off at will for pet-afk-exp'ing?

    I go to work or sleep and when I check my comp, I'm at character select every time. The reason I ask is that sometimes I make X amount of AA and other times it's much less, leading me to believe I'm just being kicked off.

    Oh, BTW!!! If this is against the rules, I'm very, very sor... nah, jk, I don't care, you can ban me (though I'm having fun!). I really just don't have time to grind all this shit-ass AA, especially when I'm capped at 60 and all the best AA's are 61+
     
  3. Hatorade A nice asshole. DONOR

    Hatorade
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2016
    Messages:
    4,064
    Ratings:
    +385
    The cap is 65.
    Oh yeah the earing quest, most on the server will run you through it if you ask.
    Or some one could flag down to you, though that is a one time thing so less likely.
     
    #1123 Hatorade, Jan 18, 2017
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2017
  4. Ridas Pay to play forum DONOR

    Ridas
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2016
    Messages:
    1,657
    Ratings:
    +762
    You can make like hundreds of AAs in a few hours once you are 65 and have access to good exp zones.
     
  5. Jysin Well-Known Member DONOR

    Jysin
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2016
    Messages:
    2,932
    Ratings:
    +330
    At 60, go to Hole. At 65, you need Luclin access and go to Droga. Both of those zones are massively more xp than anywhere else for their respective levels. (plus super low hp mobs and quick respawn)

    In regards to your boot to char select, I really don't think that code is in. I have seen Snacks mention in Discord they were rebooting server recently to clear some lag issues. Just bad luck / timing?
     
  6. Vanessa Active Member

    Vanessa
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2016
    Messages:
    124
    Ratings:
    +273
    Jysin:

    I realized SolB just crashes more than other zones; been able to AFK xp in other zones okay.

    Soooooooooooooo, does *anyone* have a Hammer of Holy Vengeance they could deattune for me? I'll add 2k just for hooking me up in addition to the 6k fee!

    -edit tonight- Got one! I'm absolutely murdering Blackburrow
     
    #1126 Vanessa, Feb 4, 2017
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2017
  7. Tilluin Member

    Tilluin
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2016
    Messages:
    57
    Ratings:
    +5
    Been searching and I can't seem to find the solution on any message boards etc, help!

    I downloaded the client for this server for my new laptop and I can't get it to play. Whenever I click the shortcut of eq.exe I make I just get a random error message. I also got a missing dll message and after downloading that I got the random error message.

    Anyone experienced this and have any tips? I just unzipped the download, did the create shortcut and add in patchme to it like normal. It used to work on my old laptop so I'm wondering if it's because I have the new windows?
     
  8. Drakain Well-Known Member

    Drakain
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2016
    Messages:
    1,094
    Ratings:
    +215
    Make sure you got all the RoF2 zips. First time I downloaded I forgot to unzip a folder. Other than that not sure? Did you get the server specific files? And isn't it eqgame.exe that you need to add patchme to?
     
  9. Ridas Pay to play forum DONOR

    Ridas
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2016
    Messages:
    1,657
    Ratings:
    +762
    Yes, it is the eqgame file. Other than that I never had a similiar problem. At first it sounds like something Drakain mentioned above.
     
  10. Dalven Saor Alba DONOR

    Dalven
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2016
    Messages:
    62
    Ratings:
    +23
    @Tilluin is it error 00xc000007b by any chance? I've no problems on my desktop pc but direct copies of that folder to my laptop and a fresh install of the files from the VoG emu (which is essentially the same) keep bringing this up.

    I've tried just about everything Google has to offer to get this resolved and can't work it out. If you solve post here!
     
  11. Thaloc New Member

    Thaloc
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2016
    Messages:
    28
    Ratings:
    +17
    Started this on friday, the wife and I are playing war cleric bard. Enjoying the hell out of it. Sifodias? hooked me up with a jaelens and a couple other nice pieces.
    Got to 52 last night, did naggy and vox a couple times. Went to do the lich in the gorge and got dc'd on 3 characters as soon as we zoned into misty. I think the zone is down.
     
  12. Tilluin Member

    Tilluin
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2016
    Messages:
    57
    Ratings:
    +5
    It is that error code yep! Funnily enough I did a copy of the folder from my old computer and that didn't work and then tried a fresh install too! I'm pretty stumped, I did the download with the all in one files but I'm going to try the download with 10 different parts just to see.
     
  13. Dalven Saor Alba DONOR

    Dalven
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2016
    Messages:
    62
    Ratings:
    +23
    From what I can see its a problem that can occur with a variety of games. Try reinstalling your .net frameworks and vc++ redistrubatbles as that seems to be the most common solution to the error. It didn't work for me (my 2012 distributable is giving me trouble) but you never know!
     
  14. Tilluin Member

    Tilluin
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2016
    Messages:
    57
    Ratings:
    +5
    Managed to get it up and running. I installed using the 10 seperate downloads for RoF2 (no idea if this mattered) and was then getting a dx3d9_30.dll missing error message. Downloaded the .dll file and put it in system32 and didn't work so I installed directx using the web updater at Download DirectX End-User Runtime Web Installer from Official Microsoft Download Center and it's now working fine.

    Gonna start a 2 box on either nags lair or VoG tonight to casually level up.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  15. Kirun Well-Known Member DONOR

    Kirun
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2016
    Messages:
    4,523
    Ratings:
    +192
    I think I might dust this off and give it another go. It seems all my characters are still there, which is a huge factor in wanting to start again.

    What's a good 3rd box to add to an SK/Shm combo? I'm thinking bard, but I may get better overall results out of a monk or rogue. I thought about a druid from a travel standpoint, but with all the self-porting locations on this server, I think a bard would work nearly as well, no?

    Also, what's the best way to setup a 3box nowadays? Scripts, programs, etc.
     
  16. Dalven Saor Alba DONOR

    Dalven
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2016
    Messages:
    62
    Ratings:
    +23
    I also had that .dll problem but dropping it in the emu folder solved it for me before hitting the current error. Thanks for the web installer tip, I'll give that a try.

    NL has a lot of custom stuff and progression quests (or at least used to) and VoG is more straight up with no gated content.

    If you start up on VoG let me know your chars and I'll hook you up with buffs or bits and pieces of gear, my dudes are 60 atm. I'm only on 2 or 3 times a week but look out for Bigbaws, Weeprick, Mezzindalv and Docdalv.
     
  17. Dalven Saor Alba DONOR

    Dalven
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2016
    Messages:
    62
    Ratings:
    +23
    As far as I know both these servers allow the rof2 mq2 version for qol stuff but I don't know if straight up scripts etc are allowed. I doubt anyone would notice in any case.
     
  18. Jysin Well-Known Member DONOR

    Jysin
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2016
    Messages:
    2,932
    Ratings:
    +330
    My 3 box team is SK / Shm / Rogue. Once you max out that assassinate skill, you can insta-kill anything up to dark blues. Pretty damn nice clearing trash in places. That said, if you want to be clearing PoTime with low numbers (6 toons), you best damn well have a Bard for the resists. Between Saryrn and Bertoxx's mana drains, you will be fucked without it. For all the rest of the content in game, I'd want my Rogue dps box. FYI: Monk will parse just as well with top gear. You lose assassinate though.

    For 3rd party programs, MQ2 is allowed. BCS messages and all are fine. The only rule was no scripting / auto kills. The only script I ended up using was one to force my rogue to backstab. For some reason mq2melee didn't have my rogue using that skill on certain mob types. I used a script to force it.
     
  19. Jysin Well-Known Member DONOR

    Jysin
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2016
    Messages:
    2,932
    Ratings:
    +330
    Btw, I haven't really been on in weeks. SK got BiS everything and have about 9 toons in Time gear. Dev work seems to have ground to a halt, so there is fuck all to do. That said, if you are a new player I still think the server experience is a blast. Enjoy it for what it is, but the game currently ends abruptly at PoTime.
     
  20. Vanessa Active Member

    Vanessa
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2016
    Messages:
    124
    Ratings:
    +273
    You have 14 Days. If after that time the Plane is not properly tuned, I am deleting my characters, and cancelling all of my accounts.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Solidarity Solidarity x 1