The "Am I stupid AF for wanting a motorcycle" thread.

Tick_sl

shitlord
Ok so all my life I have wanted a damn bike. I have zero experience but eager and willing to learn with lots of patience and a great regard for safety. Everyone and their mom save 1 or 2 people are telling me Im either gonna drop it or die. All I want is a little weekend cruiser! A Honda CTX700n to be exact. The damn thing is automatic ffs and has ABS ( great reviews to boot ). I am 33 years old, 1st kid is coming in 6 months, but have PLENTY of cash for the bike note and kid. So tell me....... am I stupid for wanting this for myself???

Silence_sl

shitlord
Ok so all my life I have wanted a damn bike. I have zero experience but eager and willing to learn with lots of patience and a great regard for safety. Everyone and their mom save 1 or 2 people are telling me Im either gonna drop it or die. All I want is a little weekend cruiser! A Honda CTX700n to be exact. The damn thing is automatic ffs and has ABS ( great reviews to boot ). I am 33 years old, 1st kid is coming in 6 months, but have PLENTY of cash for the bike note and kid. So tell me....... am I stupid for wanting this for myself???
I've been riding them all my life. Street bikes, dirt bikes, ATV's. There are lots of things to learn about them...not that riding itself is difficult, but the boxing rule applies in spades here: the punch you don't see is the one that gets you. It doesn't matter what safety doodads your machine has because the crumple zone on a motorcycle is your face.

If you live in a low-traffic area and have a good head on your shoulders, then yeah, they aren't that dangerous. Lots of traffic/asshole drivers? Forget it.

Beyond that, Honda makes a really good product. The 700 has enough power to be safe, but not too much to be unsafe, and the ABS can keep your teeth out of the pavement on a wet day.

Barellron

Trakanon Raider