The proliferation of stupidity

Titan_Atlas

Deus Vult
<Banned>
Wondering if others are noticing this as well. It seems to me that with greater access to knowledge through technology we as a whole would be getting smarter. I work in the restaurant industry so not the best breeding ground for people going somewhere in life. Nonetheless these high school aged people just seem to have no base of simple knowledge. I mean the stuff we were taught in high school. It seems like we are using all this tech to socialize constantly and even worse we are trying to make those interactions shorter and more efficient to our detriment.

Wondering what you guys are noticing both in your own lives and in different industries, maybe some that are more brain demanding than my own.

TrollfaceDeux

Pronouns: zie/zhem/zer
<Bronze Donator>
mostly human interactions. insulting boss or his establishment on the first day of new employee's work was pretty amusing to watch. A lot of work ethics and manners do not exist for some people. Needless to say, he didn't last long.

Malakriss

Golden Baronet of the Realm
Ignorance combined with a sense of entitlement seems to be the hallmark of the current generation.

iannis

Musty Nester
I've been to stores and have had to count change back to teenage clerks.

One girl tried to give me a couple of extra dollars. She literally didn't know -when- to add and -when- to subtract. She just gave the money the computer told her to. But in this case there'd been some sort of problem and the computer wasn't doing the math for her.

I totally understand that you can get flustered and make mistakes, but that's not what this was. I actually did have to kind of indirectly teach her how to count to 2000 in multiples of 100.

fanaskin

Well known agitator
<Silver Donator>